I jumped on sowing seeds like a mad woman facing another joyous season for gardening in Northern Ontario, Canada back in January ~ where the growing season can be short and stall out at a moments notice due to sudden frost or the dreaded first snows of the Fall season.

This year I’m trying my hands at something a tad new for me. Using the shortness of the growing season to my advantage, instead of just growing what I please and hope for the best. Tomatoes are on the long list of planting out this season, except I’ve opted for the cherry indeterminate variety, instead of the jumbo mega tomatoes I kept trying to get to harvest before the season changes on me.

As I approach 60 I’ve grown tired of running out at night covering up plants to protect them against frost, so I’ve implemented grow covers which will protect the plants from the chill at night and protect as well from the critters and birds. Usually, I plant a lot of seeds directly into the ground only to have the chipmunks and birds as well as the squirrels coming in for a feast, since in their minds I’ve rang the dinner bell pronouncing a delightful treat for them.

I love watching these critters and birds around my yard, and don’t really mind sharing as long as they don’t rob me of all the little pea seeds I plant out. Oh how I adore steaming the tender beans and pea pods freshly harvested off the vines.

I’m trying artichoke for the first time, since I found a short growing variety that says if the seedlings are taken outside in 10 c weather this will trick the plants that it’s been already one year and marching into the second year of growth as soon at the temperatures warm back up. I had no idea that these plants take two years in the ground before you can harvest them.. So, wish me luck with these and join in my journey learning new tricks for this old dog, so to speak…

I’ve also been harvesting French Breakfast Radishes for the past two weeks out of my homemade garden trug on my deck. In March I scooped up the soil in there from last year and placed it in a large tote to thaw out… Just like meat from a freezer… wink

It only took a little under a week and I was ready to admin the soil and begin sowing the radish seeds, and a few pea pod seeds I found left from last years garden. I watched a gardening channel on you tube and found out that if I used two layers of plastic to cover the garden trug the temp inside could reach 70 f or 21 c … Well, with the snow still on the ground and many more snow storms to come I gave it a go and sowed the seeds. I still had lots of leaves from last Fall to also use as a nice little blanket.

Magic began to happen, the soil regulated its self to these temps and the seeds began to germinate beautifully.. I am now eating freshly grown radishes from the garden trug one full month ahead of other years. I do believe that I shall add lettuce to the planting schedule next year around March, along with the radish seeds. This variety of radish is absolutely heavenly to eat, not too hot at all as some of the radish varieties can taste a bit spicy and not good for my ulcers.

line-break-image-022

laura-closing-blog-sign

 

6 thoughts on “Well…it’s May 21st 2017 ~ Pondering over my garden…

    1. Courtney Livingston, Thanking you kindly for following and commenting.. it is a lot of work, but I do so totally enjoy every moment working outside in the garden and just being present with nature after a long cold winter up here in Canada… Take care, Laura

      Like

Leave a Reply

