line-break-image-022

The Weary Traveler

Part Three

by: Laura Scott

Illustrations by: Laura Scott

The engine of the truck sounded like a marching band to me as we pulled out of the parking space, heading for Tennessee on our way to Richmond, Texas. My imagination on a scale of one to ten was without a doubt a ten.

No matter what situation I found myself in I always made the best of my circumstances. I mean really…what else was I suppose to do at this point in time? My fate was not held within my own hands, so I’d better make the lemonade taste as sweet as possible. In the grand scheme of things this trip I was on was going to be a magical ride as long as I could keep a positive attitude.

The driver stopped the truck just before we were out of the city limits of Independence and cut the engine off. Which, left me wondering if I’d fallen a sleep and we had arrived in Tennessee already?

produce-store

Plop!  Went a paper bag of fruit and vegetables the driver threw into the truck just before he jumped back into his seat and re-ignited the engine, again with sounds of a marching band announcing we were on our way again.

bananas

The smell of the fruit and even the vegetables made me feel like eating everything in the paper bag, before we were even up to the speed limit on the highway.

truck-driver-leaving-kentucky

To be continued next Friday, so stay tuned for Part Four….

line-break-image-022

laura-closing-blog-sign

6 thoughts on “#The Weary Traveler by: Laura Scott ~ Part Three ~ Every Friday

  1. Love the small details here, Laura. The produce stand, the dashboard of the van, all lovely to behold.
    You have got the scale just right too, with the proportions of the driver looking just right as he sits in the driving seat.
    very well done!
    Looking forward to the next part already.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pete, Thank you so much for noticing the detail in the drawings. The produce stand and the inside of the car had taken a very long time to complete as I wanted it just right with the details… Many, many thanks to you my dear friend.. Take care, Laura

      Like

    1. paperbagcomplex, Thank you so much for pushing me into trying my hand with my art using the computer..

      I find it amazing that when you were just 3 yrs old I put paper and colored pencils into your hands to draw and now you’re an awesome Graphic Designer and your art is so amazing to me as your mother.

      You’ve gone way beyond what I could ever produce with my art as my eyes dim with age.

      I’m so very proud of you and honored to be your mom who got you started on the path of creating art…

      Thank you for nudging me toward creating art on the computer so I could then add another dimension to my short story over the wintertime…

      Mom….

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

