I am shocked and amazed as the temperatures begin to drop here. This first week trying to grow a pineapple indoors has been a success. I’ve read that the leaves will look poorly in the first two weeks, but I am going to try to succeed with this little project of mine.

pineapple-challenge-002

 

It appears that the center of the pineapple tops was still intact when I purchased these two pineapples at the grocery store. It sounds like from what I’ve watched on YouTube by the other wonderful gardening folks who are doing this #PineappleChallenge that we need the center to be there and not plucked out by the produce manager.

september-14th-2016-pineapple-challenge-001

 

Last year I grew dill indoors, along with parsley and basil. All three thrived over the long cold winter indoors. I also began a Jalapeno pepper plant from seed last Fall that is still growing with a nice thick stalk. It gave me enough peppers to make jelly and this summer enough peppers for cooking anything spicy. I cut back the pepper plant to give it a little rest and I’m sure it will thrive yet again over this coming winter.

June 15th 2016 - 009 - Jalapeno Jelly

So, since indoor gardening on a very small scale helped me get through the very long winter last year I’ve decided to step it up a notch..

51pli92fs8l-_sl1000_

I ordered this amazing grow light kit from Veseys Seeds in Prince Edward Island. It arrived in a very sturdy outer box with another box inside containing this grow light kit. This bulb is massive in size and gives off such great light for my plants. I think my two pineapples, Oahu & Maui will just love being underneath this light. Let’s not tell them they are not in Hawaii, but rather heading into 6 months of Canadian Winter soon.

I made a short little video for YouTube ~ Less than one minute…I tried for the first time using my I-Pad to make the video, so take a look and tell me what you think…

Thanking you all kindly for your support with my Pineapple growing challenge…

Hint…

There may be toques

toques-001

In the future for Oahu & Maui

Question

line break image - 023

38368-Mountain-Bluebird

Until next time

~Laura~

2 thoughts on “It’s Still Alive ~ I haven’t killed it yet !

    1. Pete, Thanking you kindly for your comments. With this light in place I actually feel like an indoor gardener.. But, the other less than lights did the trick for the herbs and peppers.. This should prove to be an interesting experiment for me this winter.. Oh come on Woolly Hats all around, Fall’s coming ~ LOL, wink….. 🙂
      Take care my friend across the pond

      Laura

      Like

Leave a Reply

