Just when you begin to complain about never waking up early enough to catch each mornings sunrise, you begin to rise an hour earlier just in time.

August 27th 2016 - 001

I ponder…Did my brain listen to my thoughts and complaints about always missing the sweetness of the mornings pinkish skyline? Or, did I say I wished I’d wake earlier and somehow program my brain to wake up at 5 in the morning, instead of 6?

This has been going on for a month now and by the time the dinner dishes are cleaned and put away in the evening I’m ready to crash into bed for a little television watching ~ or should I say snoozing though the show merely to wake and shut off the noise with the remote.

Perhaps, I’m beginning to already miss the summertime, while the Fall quickly approaches like a speeding freight train every year. I do love the Fall when the leaves here begin to turn and after a week or two they are all ablaze with colors, fire engine reds, lemon yellows, pumpkin orange with shades of green that’s hanging on until the leaves begin to dance in the breeze falling lightly to the ground like a ballerina floating in mid air making the noiseless landing on her tippy toes…

Ballerina

There is a kind of magic in the cool air of the mornings, even though I know the day will warm back up and become humid again. The magic does however continue after the dinner dishes are done and I sit outside for the final time each evening. I do treasure greeting each morning and tucking in each evening with my presence.

I suppose it’s comforting to know each new season as it approaches us here in northern Canada, because it’s like a dear friend who never fails to visit us offering up a change of pace ~ With the coolness in the air and the display of Autumn leaves soon to follow.

It’s when we dig out our jackets, and search for the mate to our favorite gloves, which have seen better days, but we’ve just begun to break in the stiff leather and it feels like a second skin when we slip them on with ease. No longer needing to press between the fingers to get the gloves to fit properly. They have become one with us and fits perfectly on each finger passing over the knuckles with such grace.

So, I’ll greet each new morning and validate its beauty, until the first snowfall touches my nose and I bring indoors my crafted wooden bench for the winter. I’ll take it down to the basement for a fresh coat of stain and check the screws just to see if all is well. Perhaps, a dab of carpenters glue may be needed here and there just to make sure that I’m taking care of the bench that has served me so well in the Spring, Summer & Fall.

When I turned around to see what my pup was doing early this morning I noticed something I would have missed if I’d slept in …

August 27th 2016 - 002

Waning Crescent Moon

25% visible

I sat on my wooden bench by my patio door and watched as the sky became brighter and the crescent moon began to fade into the morning sky. This moon looked so bright and if I were taller it felt like I could almost touch the tip. The hummingbirds fluttered in to take a sip from my blooming zinnias and all was going to be well for the entire day.

There are so many little treasures that are free for the taking to fully enjoy and bring happiness into your day, so get yourself out of bed and catch a sunrise ~ Because it’s there every morning just waiting to see you….

38368-Mountain-Bluebird

Until next time

~Laura~

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Beauty & Magic in a Sunrise

  1. A very nice appreciation of the early morning, Laura. It took me to your bench, and you watching that sky. Since retiring , the only time I see that sunrise is when I have stayed up all night!
    I hope that your Autumn lasts long enough to get the best from it.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Pete, that’s what happen with me too, since retiring from a job I adored fully… But, my body said it was enough and tired of working 12-14 hour days, seven days a week for years on end. I powered through many a sunrise, yet always took a few moments to fully enjoy the beauty of each day.

      I suppose my internal clock is waking me up just that much earlier so I can yet again embrace its magic of the dawns early light. I almost feel like singing that song, but I can’t carry a tune in a bucket and wouldn’t want to ruin the moment, wink…

      Take care, and Thank you again for your support.. Laura 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

