I was hoping my eyes were playing tricks on me from afar, but once the camera captured this picture of a nest on the neighbors house I became very concerned.

DSCF3580

I’m not sure if it’s a wasp or a hornet, but I did see this below today landing on my deck railing and fly off in the direction of this nest.

32572972.ichneumonblack1

(I’m not certain if it had the white markings)

Just call me chicken little

chicken-little 001

I hurried inside as I’ve read that hornet stings are so much worse than the honey bee or the wasp sting. Oh my goodness, how can that be worse! The wasp can sting you over 5 times in succession and doesn’t die after either. They don’t lose their stingers after stinging you.. How is that FAIR?

monsterwasp-s.gif

I know they eat the bad bugs in our gardens and pollinate our beautiful flowers, but if we are not trying to swat them why can’t they just fly on by without feeling threatened by us? I ask you that…Well, actually that is exactly what this bug did, flew on its way…Alright, I am Chicken Little in the worst way..

Today marks the day for my container potatoes to be ready. The 80 days have expired and the plant has been turning yellow for the past week and a half. I want to wait until all of the leaves turn yellow, since the first frost is a long way off (I think anyway as it’s bloody hot out there today, feeling like 36 c. with the humidity)

My second container with the potatoes should be ready on August 30th, but there is no sign at all of yellowing leaves, so they will remain until such time.. We’re suppose to get thunderstorms for this evening, overnight and into the next day as well, so I’ll wait for a nice sunny, dry day and then dump out the container to see what my bounty will be. I just hope the scary black insects who lives in that hive are not around for the harvest….

38368-Mountain-Bluebird

Until next time

❤

~Laura~

19 thoughts on “Just Call Me Chicken Little

    1. Pete, thank you for the link and I thought so too, and no I don’t want to be stung and yes they are coming over to my garden and deck area where I have the zinnia’s growing in my garden Trug box. The owner of that portion of the town house is never there as they are selling the property. So, it appears I must try and time my outings properly and avoid these demons of the insect world.. if it’s not one thing it’s another for a gardener who loves being outdoors in the summertime.

      With all this rain the slugs have made their return to the garden and boy oh boy some are huge…I’m searching on the inter webs trying to find information on how these are good other than eating dead vegetation and clearing a garden bed, if only they’d not attack the good stuff growing..

      So, I suppose the drought was a good thing for most of our summer, we could water early and the ground would dry out long before the slugs could get to anything.. Oh well, these are the days of my life, and gives me something to post about.. Rantings of a permaculture gardener.. 🙂

      Take care, Laura

      Like

      1. Sorry to say that I used to be ruthless with slugs and snails. When I had a garden in London, they used to kill all my Hostas, and ruin most other plants too. I either put them in a bucket of fine salt, or threw them into the main street near the bust stop. The frequent buses soon sorted them out!
        I don’t get so many here, but there are lots of huge slugs out on the walks with Ollie.

        Like

      2. Pete, I hear ya… I’m just now trying my best to find the plus factor to the gooey slugs in the garden…

        I must admit that I’ve also used the salt, but watching them melt into the soil was just too much for me and that one piece of lettuce was not worth it for me.

        I thought of planting a ton of the lettuce this year, to have enough for the slugs and myself, but the chipmunks appear to love lettuce seeds or mine were duds from the beginning..

        I found a HUGE slug, the biggest I’ve seen yet munching away at my sunflower petals this past week. I thought it was a snake at first but then thought I’ve never seen snakes slither up a sunflower stem before. Mercy me that was a big one, indeed.

        So, I’m spending part of this afternoon inter webbing for one good reason they are here in such massive numbers. I suppose there are a few interesting facts I’ve found this morning before taking my daughter out to learn to drive.. We began many moons ago, but she moved out for a number of years so this is the delay for her. I like this age for her better anyway since all of the teenage woes are long past her now…

        Thank you for your comments and wish me luck in finding just one good reason for these slimy creatures… And, I’m not calling in the Ghost-busters or perhaps I should. giggling… 🙂

        Take care, Laura

        Like

    1. misskrissyinthecity, I can totally agree with you on that. We’re just sitting out there minding our own business and wham, there is a hornet sniffing at my zinnia’s with me hoping they don’t bother with me in the process..

      Thanking you ever so much for your comments, take care…

      Laura

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Looking forward to seeing the potatoes 🙂

    I’m not familiar with N. American beasties, but what you have there looks to me like some kind of solitary wasp. I don’t think it’s the bald-faced hornet because it’s the wrong shape and it doesn’t appear to have any white on it?

    I have some solitary wasps in my garden that are similar except that they have the odd yellow stripe. I only ever see them alone and they seem to be harmless. They pollinate the flowers and (as I understand it) catch caterpillars to put in their nests ready for when the eggs hatch. They are not at all aggressive as they live alone and don’t defend their nests.

    How big is that nest and how many insects have you seen near it? Can you tell what it is made of? Are you sure it belongs to this particular beastie?

    Answers to any or all of those questions might help with the ID.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ros, I would say the size so far is about the size of a large head of lettuce… The picture of the insects was as close as I could find on the internet. I’m not at all certain whether the insect yesterday had the white markings on it, because I ran inside so fast… It merely flew off .. but returned to the patio glass door looking for me I think.. This nest is growing in size too… I’ll have to be braver and try to get a picture of the actual insect, but if this is a hornet they scare the dickens out of me. I’d rather deal with a snake or shark instead.. I was stung by one back in the early seventies and still to this day feel and remember the pain on the top of my ear where it got me good. I’ll not be planting flowers next year on my back deck as they appear to also love the zinnia’s, but by mid Fall I read they begin to die off.. so, a few weeks left of these critters.. and yes, beastie is a suitable name for these insects…

      Thanking you kindly for your comments, and I wish a restful Sunday for you this evening…

      Hugs from Laura

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, the nest does suggest it’s not the same beastie as the one in your picture, but I can quite understand your not wanting to hang around for a closer look. You most definitely don’t want to be arguing with a hornet. Would be nice to know, though, in case you are being scared unnecessarily.

        I used beer traps last year 🙂 I bought the cheapest four-pack I could get from the supermarket and used all four over the growing season. They certainly work, but they don’t solve the problem completely. This year I was a bit more ruthless and went out with a trowel in the dead of night and chopped the slugs’ heads off. I figured that since they have gazillions of children, they can afford to lose some. If and when they learn not to eat all my vegetables, they will get to stay!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ros, I was outside a few moments ago, but it’s so windy with the storm heading our way the beasties are staying in their nests.. But, I do plan on somehow getting a picture of them.. Perhaps, they will be unwise and fly into the container I have with sugar water in it to catch the wasp.. Since, I read they eat those too.. These are living up to their Beastie name…Back to my research of the slugs, while the Gluten Free Bread is cooking in the bread machine for my son… Then back outdoors with camera to check on the sugar trap…. Hugs from Laura 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I had another thought about the slugs. They have beer traps here. Apparently the slugs love beer, and leave your plants alone when they drink it, as they fall in and drown in the beer! Here’s a link. The short video is priceless! It seems that you need deep traps though, or they get out again after enjoying the beer.
    http://www.gardenmyths.com/how-to-get-rid-slugs-with-beer/
    Ros may be correct about the hornet, but as you mentioned it might have had some white on it, I thought it might be the bald-faced variety.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Beer, eh… get em drunk so they can slither out and party on … I’m laughing so hard it’s difficult to be serious about your helpful hints.. brb.. need to laugh,,, to be continued response…

      Like

    2. Pete, thank you for the link with the time lapse video. I couldn’t count how many time I said, “Wow…” watching it. Now, I wonder if they sell beer by the single can, since I don’t like the stuff to spend money on a six pack…Some of the slug went out, while others plopped in and didn’t leave.. Belly up to the bar fellow slugs..

      Take care, Laura

      Like

      1. Pete, you’re such a smart man, you’re exactly correct it’s the yeast and sugar… One article even went as far as saying that only Budweiser worked the best out of all the beers.. Still giggling over that trying to picture the scientific trial with using the different beers.. I think I may have a simple solution so wait for tomorrows post to find out what it is… hehehehe

        Like

Leave a Reply

