Once I finished laughing at myself for thinking the rocks in the lake looked like the famous Loch Nest Monster, I continued walking up the pier to where the Chief Commander is docked.

August 16th 2016 - 021

needless to say I kept my umbrella placed snugged underneath my arm. The sky was truly amazing when I stepped onto the wooden pier. The water was still at low tide and a few ducks were enjoying paddling around, pecking at anything that floated by their beaks.

August 16th 2016 - 019

As soon as I stopped to lean over the railing to position the camera to get a better shot, I could see in the sand just inches below the surface of the shallow water the ducks prints in the sand. They stayed very close to where I was standing as they are accustomed to being well fed by other folks strolling along the pier.

August 16th 2016 - 018

I’m sure if they could speak they’d say, “Throw me something, Mrs…”

August 16th 2016 - 017

These creatures are actually really lovely in many different ways. They paddle with such ease and keep their eyes on anything just below the water line. I’m not sure just how long I stood there just admiring these fine feathered creatures, but I know they gave me such a sense of peace and tranquility.

But, it was time to move on toward the end of the pier where the Chief Commander Ship is docked. I’ve experienced many times the cruises along the lake, touring around the different islands. It’s such a treat to be back on a boat floating atop the water and this reminds me of my grandfather and I heading out on our shrimp boat just before sunrise in Florida… Fried Egg sandwiches and a thermos full of hot coffee with milk. Boy, oh boy those were the days one must remember, and always repeat so the memories stay alive….

On the opposite side of the pier there was a sand bar due to the water being so shallow, and a little mystery too…

August 16th 2016 - 013

Abandoned was this pair of swimming trunks, scrunched into the sand by the current of the water. This made me grin like a Cheshire Cat, wondering just how these trunks came to be here. My first thought I must admit was someone enjoyed skinny dipping in the lake one dark evening…So, I looked around for more clues…nothing else in sight, but my thoughts continued with this thought process. Perhaps, the couple were on a boat one fine evening and decided to just throw caution to the winds and release their clothing into the water below…

Whatever the real reasons this lonely pair of swimming trunks found their way to this very spot for me to notice I didn’t really care, as it gave me memories of long ago skinny dipping for the first time in Florida one moonlit night with my beau……

August 16th 2016 - 016

I had to laugh once I continued walking the pier, and came upon this sign, Rent A Rack… With my childhood memories flourishing around in my thoughts this sign brought back memories of my so called first hunting trip with a rifle…As if I’d ever shoot anything! I told my beau….as we trampled through the woods in search of a deer. Well, he was in search of and I was determined to make as much noise as I could ~ feeling satisfied I would surely be scaring away any wild thing in the woods for miles and miles. Thus, saving their lives and I could enjoy the hiking part of this adventure… There was going to be NO RACK on the hood of this mans truck today….

August 16th 2016 - 015

The famous canoe episode came rambling forward so hard I needed to sit on the edge of the pier and soak in the memories of it fully. My late husband and I bought a beautiful red canoe during the first year of our wedded bliss. We took it out on another lake not very far from this one, but this other lake is very deep and very cold. As a matter of fact they tried to measure just how deep it is and couldn’t, since it was too deep to calculate…My husband left that part out about the lake until after the episode…..

We got into the canoe, and began paddling around this frigid lake in the springtime (not the best time of year either..) Really, really cold……Well, I leaned over to see down into the water and could see something that appeared to look like branches as if there was a forest down there. Ah…Beavers were busy I assumed…

Then for some reason I began to become afraid of the lake and what lurked beneath the water line. This was a first for a gal who grew up around the Gulf of Mexico and swam with the dolphins many times, and even caught sharks with my grandfather (When they became too over populated after a hurricane blew through our town – This action was an order from the Mayor back in the sixties to all fishermen).. These things you can clearly see.. This dark and dreary looking bottomless lake you could not..

We neared the shoreline and in my hurry to paddle faster I tipped over the canoe, flipping it over completely….He got out quickly, remember the water was very cold, and I held my breath waiting to get help… Good thing I was a good underwater swimmer when younger and learned early on how to hold my breath for a long time underneath the water.

He thought I’d be surfacing soon, so didn’t bother to check to see if my legs were caught underneath the seat on a hook of some sort. I didn’t panic or race for air, I calmly felt around to see why my leg would not release and I came to the surface slowly, frozen and I must admit a bit angry at him for not jumping to my aid….

I never yelled at my husband or even wanted to in the brief 15 years we were granted together as husband and wife, but I did say, “We’re selling this pretty red canoe, tomorrow.”Ā  And, that was that…. For sale one pretty red canoe, used only once….is what the ad placement read in the next days newspaper.

To be continued, join me tomorrow for Part Three…

38368-Mountain-Bluebird

Until next time…

ā¤

~Laura~

 

 

14 thoughts on “A little stroll by the Lake ~ Part Two

  1. I was interested in your canoe story, Laura. As a non-swimmer, I would have avoided that deep lake without a life jacket myself. The sky in those photos looks so threatening, like the end of the world approaching!
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pete, We had life jackets on during the canoe ride, but took them off just as we neared the very shallow, knee deep water by the boat launch. I suppose you should keep them on until your safely on the sand looking back at the water. The skies were amazing as the rain approached and I got back to the car just in time for the downpour. Went to a little cafe for a coffee and a tea biscuit, afterward… Was all and all a delightful morning and rejuvenated me from my turmoil with the car garages trying to fix a problem with my vehicle.. I take it in again this Friday, and hopefully this one will solve a problem I’ve had for a few years now. If, not heads might just roll, as I’m tired of not being taken seriously just because my vehicle is 18 years old this coming October.. I suppose cars and humans as they age tend to receive less respect and are treated like we have one foot on a banana peel and the other one in the grave, but and with me there’s always a but… I’m not going down without a fight… Go to the Mattresses … you I’m sure know this reference.. Take care, and thanking you kindly for your continued support for my postings and blog..

      Many thanks, Laura šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I enjoyed reading your post. It is interesting how items bring back memories. Your canoe story is unforgettable. I also love the ducks. They seem so happy in the water.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Laura, Good Morning to you my dear… Yes, it is amazing how a simple stroll at the waterfront brought back so many memories as I approach my 58th birthday this month…

      Being a Virgo I have a soft heart and am finding it liberating to share my stories with the wonderful people here on Word Press.

      I’m also trying to get my son to start a blog with some of his talented art work… He spent so many years going through college taking Graphic Design that it would be a loss if he never shared his talent with others.

      Fear is a stumbling block I’ve never accepted, but it seems he didn’t get my trait as far as that goes..

      Send us good vibes so I can use your help to convince him to try..

      Your comments my dear mean the world to me as you get to know me just a little bit better through my posting.

      I wanted to at one time publish my novels I worked on for over 8 years, while I was recouping from a bad fall down a flight of stairs.

      The doctors wanted to do a knee replacement on both knees after that and I refused.

      My faith and my determination to help my own body heal thy self so to speak took me 5 years in a wheelchair resting and slowly working my knees back to health.

      I’m walking and gardening daily and shoveling snow in the wintertime, without too much pain.

      Weather related ouch here and there is to be expected where Arthritis tends to set in where there’s been an injury. But, no knee replacements and functioning as before..

      So, now you know a little bit more about this woman who posts sometimes interesting stories of days past and her love of writing…

      Money was not the objective, rather others reading my stories was the goal…

      So you know now just how much your comments do mean to me.. Thank you my dear once again..

      Take care and have a glorious day and evening, Laura šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Two 58 year old Laura’s… We can really storm the gates with our wisdom, can’t we.. šŸ™‚ Happy Belated Birthday my dear…
        šŸ™‚ Take care, one Laura to another šŸ™‚

        Like

    1. misskrissyinthecity, You’re so right about the abandoned clothing. I love finding things like this and wonder what the circumstances were for them to be left behind. Thanking you so much for your comments on my post about the nice little stroll on the waterfront..

      Take care, Laura

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

