It was just one of those days…I woke around 5 this morning and felt the approaching rain off in the distance. Last nights beautiful sunset was a sign that rain was in our future. We still need the rain so it’s a welcome sight to see. But, my knees know as well when it’s going to rain or snow and they are not in the least bashful about showing me who’s boss.

I thought I’d go for a little walk early this morning down by the lake on the boardwalk. Since, I was going to feel pains in the knees I might as well earn it a little because there was going to be no gardening for me today.

I checked the weather forecast before heading out and hoped that the estimated time for the arrival of the showers was correct. Just to be safe I grabbed my handy dandy umbrella and placed my digital camera in my little ice cooler because it keeps the rain off and when the camera is in the car it’s hidden from others and it won’t be damaged by any heat in the car. Works like a charm… Just a helpful hint… So, come on and follow along with me on my walk this morning…

August 16th 2016 - 001

As you can see the whole of the morning was going to be hues of gray with a few scattered sprinkles here and there.

As I looked down the boardwalk I noticed the volunteers hard at work this early morning. Pulling out brown bits of plants and pulling any weeds that have appeared just overnight from the past two days of rain.

August 16th 2016 - 002

I walked pass the Hostas with their varied markings. There is really something special about these hardy plants. They can withstand drought, as proven in my own garden this year as long as there is shade for them like underneath this pine tree.

August 16th 2016 - 003

I came upon this beauty with a visitor resting on top of the flower. So, I must stop to take a shot before it notices I’m there and flies away.

August 16th 2016 - 004

I pretty much had the entire boardwalk to myself this morning, except for the occasional person walking their dogs. This newly mulched path looked appealing to me and wondered if I’d see a tiny critter running through the bushes. I wasn’t disappointed because two chipmunks took off running in the other direction.

August 16th 2016 - 005

This is where small celebrations are held. It’s amazing how your voice can travel when standing underneath this structure. Kids of all ages love to stand in the middle and call to each other while a slight echo happens like magic…

August 16th 2016 - 011

I walked around by the beach area that is roped off for the safety of swimmers of all ages and where the summertime lifeguards can keep a watchful eye on everyone.

August 16th 2016 - 007

Although, it’s abandoned at the moment as soon as the weather clears folks will be out on the beach playing and swimming. Under the careful eye of the wonderful people who sit up on this lifeguard chair.

August 16th 2016 - 008

It may have been too early for young children with their parents to play at this playground, but this single little duck found it just right and had the beach all to themselves.

August 16th 2016 - 009

I found myself giggling when looking through the camera and noticed these rocks looked more like a loch nest monster then just being low tide…

or is it???

loch nest monster 2

  or perhaps  060309_loch_ness

You can see I have quite the imagination while doing most things each day…So join me tomorrow for Part Two of the stroll along the boardwalk…

38368-Mountain-Bluebird

Until next time

~Laura~

6 thoughts on “A little stroll by the Lake ~ Part One

  1. You are lucky to live so close to a nice park, and the beach area too. Although I live in the countryside, I have to drive for almost 30 minutes to find a beach on the north coast of Norfolk.
    Like you, we also feel the threat of rain, with burning joints in the fingers, or twinges in the wrists and knees. They are better forecasters than the TV weather girl!
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed, so my friend.. Our joints are better than any weather forecaster around. My lake is a mere 5 minutes away from me and if I speed just a tad it’s like 3… But, of course I wouldn’t speed.. I can’t afford the ticket or demerit points either… 😦

      Thank you for your comments…
      Take care, from Laura

      Like

    1. Laura, thank you and that is what I was trying to do this time on this end of the lake… I think I managed to get just one lady and her dog in a far off shot… But, waited for the others on the dock to pass before taking most shots.. Thank you for noticing what I was up too and I know you will enjoy Part 2 tomorrow.. Hang on because there are a total of 4 parts…. hugs and many thanks from One Laura to another… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

