September 22nd marks the first day of Autumn and that’s a mere 40 days away from today. Where did the summer go? I ponder…

The heat warnings have been rampant for two months and my rain barrels have almost been emptied. Thank heavens for a dehumidifier that offers up buckets of water to use on the plants along with my trusty dish rinse water I collect to use as well.

My Fall Swiss Chard is growing beautifully even in these dry hot temperatures with the aid of my homemade shade cloth to protect the tender leaves. I put back into action the small old umbrella over my dill, parsley, and cilantro to protect them as well as allow the soil not to dry out as much…

August 11th 2016 - Umbrella and homemade shade cover - 010

My routine is to water very early in the morning and then again around 3 in the afternoon. The soil is bone dry at this time and the plants will suffer if left until the next morning.

August 11th 2016 - watering can with sticks - 007

August 11th 2016 - Swiss Chard - 001

My little watering can I use for the Swiss Chard and the herbs would pour too fast, so I took two Popsicle sticks and shoved those into the pouring spout. Now the water trickles out so as not to get the leaves wet during watering.. Oh boy...Just call me Macgyver…

Macgyver - 001

MacGyver is a top agent for the Phoenix Foundation, a progressive agency devoted to righting the wrongs of the world. Even more progressive is the genius MacGyver, who never carries a gun and always thwarts the enemy with vast scientific knowledge – sometimes with little more than a paper clip and the duct tape in his pocket.
First episode date: September 29, 1985
Final episode date: May 21, 1992
I also seeded some more radishes for a Fall crop in hopes that the warm temps will carry over into October. Once the seedlings are up they only take about a month ~ if the chipmunks don’t get them… I should have plenty of time since they do enjoy cooler temperatures and might just plant another row in two weeks…
The multiplying onions are growing nicely out in the permaculture bed and as of yesterday I harvested a few for a Gluten Free Chicken pizza for my son. I tweaked the recipe a little bit and will post about it tomorrow ~ I hope with some really good pictures to show you. I also used my pizza cooker to cook the shell base and this worked like a charm..
Betty Crocker Pizza Maker - 001
I’ll show you that as well tomorrow…Needless to say my son thought he’d have to give up pizza because making the pizza shell base was looking impossible for me.. But, I never say never and put my years of cooking to work to figure this challenge out…
Remember my telling you about trying something I found on the inter-webs… You take one small slice off a store bought tomato and plop in some dirt…
Well I had over 40 or more plants pop up from that one slice..
Here is one I added to my permaculture bed.. I believe the store bought tomato was a determinate variety…
August 11th 2016 - Tomato plant from the one slice of tomato method - 008
That means once it sets the flower it will not grow any taller and set more flowers… Last year I planted some cherry tomatoes from store bought package of seeds and that was an indeterminate variety and it grew and grew and set flowers one right after the other. Until, the frost smacked it in the face and took it out for the Fall season…
That’s my progress so far, Happy Farming to ya
38368-Mountain-Bluebird
Until next time
❀
~Laura~
8 thoughts on “Fall is around the corner ~ Really? Just call me the female version of Mcgyver…

    1. Pete, oh my goodness…that’s something, and are your happy about the humidity and heat gone or missing warmer temps today.. A coat on the 11th of August is that normal for you? woozers!

      Take care, Laura

      Like

      1. Not normal at all, Laura. Grey for two days, dull and only 60 degrees maximum. Rain last night and today. More like march than August…It is supposed to be hot at the weekend, so we will see.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well I’ve almost given up on any rain here and my back yard is not fully brown looking like dried hay… The up side is I don’t have to worry about mowing it.. the downside is there is going to be no grass mulch for my compost bin.. hum…whats a gardener to do? πŸ™‚

        Like

  1. Hello MacGyver πŸ™‚ Everything looking good in the garden, I see. I love that the branch makes it look as if you are waving! (Yes I know I was supposed to be looking at the watering can). I take it you have no wasp nests this year?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello there Ros, I thought while taking the picture of the watering can it was funny to see my straw gardening hat in the shadow.. When I brought the picture into the computer I noticed the tree limb looking like I was waving with an odd looking arm.. I laughed for a long time while working on the post.. I just had to add that picture in the post, hoping actually that you might get a chuckle out of the picture… Scored!

      I’m happy you liked it… no wasp nests in the yard this year, but there are some next door and they visit me each time I’m out.. I sneak in the garden at 6 in the morning while they are snoozing still…. πŸ™‚

      Thank you so very much for your comments.. Hugs from Laura aka Macgyver….

      Like

Leave a Reply

