What’s happening?

I’m in Northern Ontario, Canada

Mercy me it’s HOT!

But, my beauty of a sunflower is just loving these balmy temperatures of the dog days of summer.

August 3rd 2016 - 001 - resized 50

August 4th 2016 - 002

I am loving how my scarlet runner beans are climbing from the permaculture bed just below the deck to the upper railing showing off their beautiful red flowers. I should have humming birds fluttering around in no time at all…

August 4th 2016 - 003

My sweet potato is thriving in this hot weather and looking quite beautiful. I’ve never grown sweet potatoes before, but wanted to admire the pretty purplish leaves growing on this plant…

August 4th 2016 - 001

My homemade Trug garden bed on the deck is proving to be a winner for me as well.. My chives, green onions, ginger and parsley are growing great this year as are the flowers on each end of the box.. My white potatoes to the left of the garden trug in a brown planter box is also growing huge and I expect to have a bounty at harvest time between the two planters containing the white potatoes.. Just have to wait until the stems turn brown ~ signaling it’s time to harvest… I’ve noticed the bottom leaves beginning to turn a tad yellow so perhaps the time is nearing.. But, I think around the end of August will be the magic time to see just how many spuds I’ll have..

With our chilly beginning to the planting season most things are not ready until the end of August or the middle of September. I have tomatoes growing nicely from my little experiment of taking one slice off a store bought tomato and plopping it in some dirt and compost.. I’m very please with the results these many tomato plants have given me so far…

July 31st 2016 - 003

July 25th 2016 - 033 copy

Sorry the print is so small.. but,

it says, Even thistle can be beautiful as

long as it’s in the neighbors yard…..

line break image - 018

38368-Mountain-Bluebird

Until next time

~Laura~

2 thoughts on “It feels like 99 F with the humidity

    1. I had to be out in this horrid humidity very early this morning. At 7:30 I was on the roadway heading to a car garage to have some needed work done on my black beauty.. Mercy me it’s so bad you just want to faint from the brick wall that is air… I’m indoors now and will probably take a nice cool nap in front of the air conditioner.. fans…..
      Take care, Laura…

      Like

Leave a Reply

