Lucille Ball Shocked face

July 6th 2016 - Spider on a Pea Vine - 012

bees winnie the pooh - Copy

I was sitting next to my rain barrel filling up a watering can and looked over to my left ….

I let out a yelp!

Then looked around to see if anyone heard me…

line break image - 024

Even Black Bears in Vancouver B.C. need cooling off

Bear in a pool Vancouver B.C.

Courtesy of :

https://www.theweathernetwork.com/news/articles/bear-beats-summer-heat-by-taking-a-dip-in-backyard-pool/55889/

line break image - 023

Today and Tomorrow’s Heat

July 12th & 13th

Celsius

July 12th 2016 - Weather for today

line break image - 023

Fahrenheit

July 12th 2016 - Weather for today F

One good thing is the humidity isn’t sitting at 100%

I suppose that’s a plus…

Looking on the brighter side of the heat…

My vegetables are loving this warm weather in my Permaculture beds..

line break image - 023

I can report that my test with not watering the permaculture beds is working out great. We’ve had very little rain last month, and the beds have held on to the rain that we did have. I’m not even worried when it does rain hard and fast, because the permaculture beds drain off the extra rain water ~ Holding on to what’s needed for the garden and the plants roots.

Now I have been somewhat tempted to water the beds this summer, because of the drought. But, I’ve stood steadfast to run this test from the information I’ve read on this type of gardening. So, far I am amazed and very happy with the results so far. All appears to be true from the many articles I’ve read on permaculture gardening.

With the new water meters just put in over last winter we pay for every drop of water used… I truly understand we need to conserve our water usage for the planet, but I was worried I’d have to give up gardening all together because it would no longer be cost efficient.  Nature sure does know how to survive and permaculture gardening is as close to nature as one can get, for me anyway….

Another way to save money on the water I use from my own taps in my kitchen ~ I bought two sink size tubs for washing the dishes in and rinsing.

ASPOT_Category_Lifestyle_FaucetsFixtures

white-kitchen-sterilite-12-qt-plastic-twin-sink-dish-pan-wash-tub-basin-laundry-a75398fc6afb07b4466894a40bb0c96d

(If, you’re wondering why I don’t use the sink stoppers to hold the water inside of the sink, it’s because during the day I need access to the sink for filling pots to prep dinner or strain water off of cooked noodles and the like, so I can remove these handy dandy tubs to the side counter out of my way… )

The rinse water goes out with me every morning from the night before.. I water the container plants with this saved water, and some of the soap from rinsing the dishes the night before keeps the bugs down as well I’ve noticed… I thought I’d have to give up container gardening because lugging the water up the stairs from the yard where my rain barrel is was getting too difficult last gardening season…

Problem Solved!

line break image - 023

I know it sounds a little crazy, and a lot of effort but it really is not much of either and I am saving money in my pocket for a rainy day ~ grinning… and we all need that don’t we?

July 12th 2016 - 004

200

38368-Mountain-Bluebird

Until next time

~  Laura  ~

Aug 9 2013 - 003 - Copy

My pup and I wish you a wonderful day

line break image - 036

7 thoughts on “Little Miss Muffet

  1. That’s a big bug, Laura!
    The water conservation is a god idea. It is also true that soapy water does help to keep bugs away, and doesn’t harm the plants being watered. Nice to see it all coming together for you, before the snow returns…
    You have some hot weather there indeed. It is struggling to reach 18 C here, but doesn’t drop much below that at night. So we have to have a fan on in the bedroom, and we are finding it harder to get a good night’s sleep.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pete, oh my was that a large spider I was sitting beside. If that thing would have crawled onto me I think I would be still running away….
      But, thankfully it was comfortable resting atop the leaves of my pea plant probably wondering when I was going to leave the area…

      Take care, Laura

      Like

    1. Laughing here, indeed that can be confusing… I was the one yelping and running away 🙂 Thank you for your visit and commenting as it’s always a delight to have you come and sit a spell at my blog…

      Take care, Laura

      Like

      1. I’m sorry–poor wording on my part. I know you Yelped. I was trying to ask if you yelped because of the spider or because of the bear. Neither of them YELP [to my knowledge]. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

