Chocolate Mint - 001

As its name suggests, Chocolate mint is a variety of mint that has nuances of chocolate in both fragrance and flavor. Subtle notes of cocoa and vanilla mix with a traditional spicy mint finish. When grown in sufficient sunlight, the lush green leaves even develop burgundy veins to match the chocolate-colored stems.

I thought I’d make some ice-cream using the chocolate mint I’ve been growing for two years.

Chocolate Mint Ice Cream - 001

Chocolate Mint Ice Cream

2 1/2 cups milk

3 1/2 cups chocolate mint

5 egg yolks

2/3 cups sugar

1 cup heavy cream

(I added one vanilla stick to the cooking mixture)

In a medium saucepan, combine milk and fresh chocolate mint. (I used about 1 cup of fresh mint, instead) Bring mixture to a gentle boil, cover and remove pan from heat. Steep mixture for 30 minutes. Strain mixture, reserve milk and discard solids.

Combine egg yolks and sugar in a bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Beat on medium-high speed until very thick and pale yellow, for about 3-5 minutes. Return milk to a simmer.

Prep an ice water bath. Place ice cubes in a bowl and fill half with water.

Temper the egg yolks by slowly adding half of the warm milk mixture to the egg yolk mixture while stirring constantly until blended. Add new mixture to sauce pan with remaining milk. Stir consistently over low heat until mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon.

Remove saucepan from heat and immediately stir in cream. Place in an empty bowl over the ice water bath. Strain mixture through a fine mesh strainer into empty bowl and chill for at least 3 hours to overnight in the refrigerator.

Freeze custard in ice-cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. (I added Toffee bits to the mixture after putting it into the ice-cream maker)  Store in an airtight container in freezer until ready to eat.. (I put plastic wrap over the top of the stored ice cream to keep crystals from forming on top of the ice cream…) Works like a charm….

Ice Cream Maker

Chocolate Mint Ice Cream - 002

I also made a crock-pot of chili, so I could have chili dogs for dinner…

This was a nice finish to our evening meal and who doesn’t love chili dogs?

line break image - 012

38368-Mountain-Bluebird

Until next time

~  Laura  ~

15 thoughts on “Chocolate Mint Ice Cream

  1. ‘Who doesn’t love chili dogs?’

    Um… I think that might be me 🙂 The chocolate mint ice cream sounds nice, though. I’ve never had it made fresh from the herb. I’ll have to ask my daughter if she has. She has both herb and ice-cream maker!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ros, oh my goodness you must try it homemade.. it’s like nothing you’ve ever tasted before. So good… I love the chili dogs, but they do tend to bark at me afterwards….Take care and Thank you for your continued Hugs

      Laura ~ 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

